There are 3 main pathways to the Key Stage 4 curriculum, some of the aforementioned accredited courses are specific to each site, and young people have access to all 3 pathways.  We are committed to building a Key Stage 4 curriculum to meet individual learner needs.

Pathway 1: Academic GCSE Pathway.

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics; Numeracy
  • Applied Science
  • Biology
  • Skills challenge
  • Art
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Religious Education – Short Course

Pathway 2: Vocational Accredited Pathway.

  • BTEC Sweet Personal and Social Education
  • ASDAN Certificate of Personal Effectiveness
  • Duke of Edinburgh
  • The Prince’s Trust

Pathway 3: Bespoke Learning Pathway.

All learners have the opportunity to engage with enrichment courses delivered through the 14 – 19 Network.

Autumn 2020:

  • Art
  • Catering
  • Construction
  • Drama
  • Engineering
  • Hair and Beauty
  • Health and Social Care
  • Horticultural and Agricultural Engineering
  • ICT
  • Land Based Studies
  • Motor Mechanics
  • Photography
  • Small Animal Care
  • Sport and Leisure
  • Welding and Fabrication

Literacy Focus 2020

Read and analyse a range of unseen printed and multi-modal texts with concentration and independence.

Year 10

Analyse texts and subtexts, responding and conveying ideas clearly and appropriately.

Year 11

Analyse and respond to texts and subtexts confidently, understanding and interpreting meaning.

Numeracy Focus 2020

Year 10 and 11

Area and perimeter of:

Squares and rectangles.




Compound shapes.

Circles and sectors.

Area and perimeter problems.

The service continues to develop collaborative partnerships with a variety of local quality assured organisations, some of whom offer recognised accredited courses. 

Further information can be provided by the EOTAS Service Lead.

Work experience placements are available subject to availability and a quality assured health and safety vetting process.

Whole service performance indicators include capped 9, literacy measure and numeracy measure.  Greater emphasis is placed on the social, emotional and well-being progression of individual young people.  Thorough planning ensures all young people are matched with appropriate employment, education or training opportunities when they transition to post 16 destinations.